South Carolina News

New law says SC moped drivers must register vehicles by Nov. 19

Spartanburg, SC (WSPA) - Hundreds if not thousands of mopeds are on South Carolina roads each day with little to no regulations for riders.

But that will change in November. 

A new law will require registration of each moped, which means it will cost you money and moped drivers will be subject to the laws of the road.

For Ted Blumenfeld, motorcycles and mopeds are his life.

His shop, Sports Cycle, has been around since the 1980's.       

For many of his customers, travel on two wheels is their only form of transportation.

"Some people are not able to own an automobile," Blumenfeld said. Some can't afford an automobile, others may have a suspended drivers license and many younger people find mopeds a less expensive way to get around, Blumenfeld explained. 

On Nov. 19, a new South Carolina law goes into effect adding to the cost of ownership and will require all mopeds to be registered with the state Department of Motor Vehicles, as well as get a moped license plate.

The cost is $10 every two years.

"There are no property tax or insurance requirements with the moped," said Larry Murray, director of vehicle services with the S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles.

Murray said owners can begin registering mopeds on Nov. 1.    

If you have a moped that's been given to you or purchased from a private owner, you will be required to sign an affidavit declaring ownership.

"Mopeds have been used in crimes, so this becomes a law enforcement and community safety issue," Murray said. "Now mopeds will have license plates on them that are registered to the owner of that (vehicle) traceable by law enforcement."

Current tags give law enforcement no way to identify the owner.

"They can't run a tag, they can't even run a VIN number because they're not in the system as a vehicle," Blumenfeld said. "In that respect, I think it's a good idea that they're going to be tagged."

Although the new law will require mopeds to be registered, there are no property tax or insurance requirements.

Mopeds can only legally go up to 35 miles per hour on the road. The new law will make moped drivers subject to the laws of the road.

Current law says that riders younger than 21 must wear a helmet while on a moped.


More Stories

Meet the Team

Don't Miss

Latest News - Local

Video Center